Step by Step - Michigan CPLObtaining your Michigan Concealed Pistol License is easy if you follow these step by step instructions.
Step One:Don't be a criminal - no one likes criminals. Be at least 21 years old and a law-abiding resident of Michigan.
Step Two:Successfully complete a pistol safety training course (aka CPL Course) and obtain a certificate of completion.
Step Three:Complete a Michigan Concealed Pistol License application and print it. Do NOT sign the application yet!
Step Four:Bring the completed application, your class certificate, and Photo ID to your county clerk's office. If you don't have a digital photo on file with Michigan SOS, you need to bring a passport-quality photograph.
Step Five:Pay the application fee ($100) and sign the completed application when told to do so. You will be given a receipt and instructions on how to provide fingerprints. There may be an additional fee for fingerprinting.
Step Six:After being fingerprinted, you will be issued a receipt. It is VERY important that you keep this receipt. If you do not receive your CPL within 45 days of this receipt, it becomes your temporary CPL until the physical card arrives.
CPL FAQsAnswers to some of the frequently asked questions about Michigan Concealed Pistol Licenses and concealed carry.
Carrying & Vehicles
Lifespan & Renewing
County InformationContact information and locations of County Clerk's offices in Southeast Michigan.
301 N Main St
Adrian, MI 49221
Temporarily located at 113 W Front St due to old courthouse renovation. Click here for directions.